Omelettes

EGGS!!!!  I currently have four dozen eggs in my fridge, and I need to use them in a hurry…

Solution: Omelettes.  They are delicious, filling, full of protein, and use a ton of eggs!  Also, depending on what you put in them, they can be nearly free to make using all WIC foods.

What you’ll need:

For one omelette:

  • 3-4 eggs
  • 1/3 c milk
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • dash of salt & pepper

Filling (really anything you want, but here are some ideas):

  • Onion
  • Bell pepper
  • Hot pepper
  • Broccoli
  • Tomato
  • Mushroom
  • Pineapple
  • Ham
  • Sausage
  • Bacon
  • Sour cream
  • Salsa
  • Cheese of any (or many) kind(s)

What you’ll do:

  1. Crack eggs into a medium-sized mixing bowl and mix well with a fork or whisk.
  2. Add milk and spices and mix until incorporated.
  3. Pour egg mixture into a medium-sized non-stick skillet over medium heat.
  4. (Now don’t yell at me, but I have tried many methods, and this is the one that works for me every time.)  Don’t worry about stirring the eggs or really touching them at all.  When the edges start to set, cover the skillet (either with its own cover or a pot lid that covers the skillet.)  Check on the eggs periodically.  I think it usually takes about five minutes for mine to completely set, but as I said, check every minute or so.
  5. When your eggs are done (no longer any runny spots) add your filling to one half of the circle.
  6. Carefully fold the unfilled half over the filling and let cook for a few minutes, or until the cheese has melted.
  7. Transfer to a plate.  If you wish, serve with sour cream.  (If you’re into that kind of thing…)

I think it’s safe to say that my husband and I would eat omelettes everyday, but I’d be kidding myself if I thought I would always have a clean skillet…

And just to illustrate our… ahem… slight differences in taste, my favorite fillings are cheddar, ham, and pineapple, while his are cheddar, feta, bacon, onion, and jalapenos topped with sour cream.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kathi on March 1, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    I think even I might be able to do this. 🙂
    And for those who do not know that you have a cooking-illiterate MIL – now they know why I would say that. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment